08 September 2010

Oh look a blog

No, really, I remembered I had one of these! I even have something semi-on topic to post (although I'm sitting here listening to Alive 2007 by Daft Punk which is an album that has some rather strong associations for me, so I am reserving the right to delve into introspection).

Anyway, in music related news:
  • I have been on a huge The Killers kick lately. I know I've mentioned in the past how much I hate that I like them. Nevertheless,  Day and Age has made it's way on to my car cd (which is a huge deal for me, because I spend a ton of time in the car for work, so I do a lot of my less critical listening there). 
  • I bought tickets to Moogfest 2010 and am eagerly antcipating it. It's a really fantastic lineup of electronic and electronic related artists. Super looking forward to seeing Girl Talk again, the set he did at Bonnaroo '09 was one of the two highligts of the festival for me (the other one being NIN's final North American show). Also Pretty Lights = win. 
  • I've been checking out artists on the Moogfest lineup whom I'm less than familer with, for two reasons. Firstly, I am always up for broadening my musical horizons. Secondlly, I hate it when I have a chance to see a group live and pass it up because I don't know I like them. This happened to me with both MGMT and Phoenix at Bonnaroo '09, and is even more likely to happen at an electronic festival. 
  • I really need to do another album review. I actually have a couple that I have been thinking about for *ages* and just haven't gotten around to writing. Part of the reason why I update so erratically is because I don't have a lot of readers...but I won't get readers if I don't have something interesting to say. 
 Anyway, aside from The Killers, lets talk about what I've been listening to lately!
From the Moogfest lineup, I've discovered Cee Lo Green. Totally not typical music for me, but I am really liking what I have heard so far:
Cee Lo Green - Fuck You - Cannot stop listening to this song (and also watching the extremely entertaining video). Not quite how to describe the sound - the best I can come up with is modern soul meets hip-hop with a pretty solid dose of electronica and backup vocals thrown in. Just check out the video. You'll know in the first minute if it does anything for you (and if it does, I promise you won't even notice when the first minute has gone by).
Cee Lo Green - Fuck You (Paul Epworth mix) - Another good song with a great video. This one is definitely more soul and less hip hop, again with a healthy dose of electronica. I do have a little bit of a harder time with this one as I am not sure if I would have liked the song as much if it didn't have an absolutely fantastic video (I adore music videos, so it's a real treat when one is as well done as this). With that said, I still have no qualms about recommending it. Check it out, and see if you can guess the part in the video where I cursed out loud at one of the protagonists.

Some more typical stuff for me:
YukSek - Extraball - Great synthrock with a healthy dose of rap vocals (thanks to an appearance by Amanda Blank). I don't know much about these guys - the Extraball video was actually recommended to me on YouTube, and I clicked on it on a whim and was completely entranced. I haven't had a chance to listen to much more of their stuff in detail, but I have liked what I have heard.

Phoenix - 1901- I'm pretty sure I'm the last person on the planet to figure out that, hey, Phoenix is pretty good. I actually caught part of their set at Bonnaroo '09 but at the time I was focused on drinking as much Magic Hat as I could to try to get fucked up before Crystal Castles and Girl Talk started. In retrospect, a poor decision, but what are you going to do. Anyway, Phoenix is a solid synthrock group, and 1901 is the highlight of it's album, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix. This one has also earned a place on my current car CD. Side note: Wikipedia classifies these guys as "alternative". What the hell? I could probably write an entire post about how overused and abused the alt-rock label is, but I can tell you right now, when I think alt-rock, Phoenix is not what I come up with. Perhaps I am not familiar enough with the rest of their stuff (beyond Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix), but I just don't see how you could apply that label to them.

Death Cab for Cutie - Cath... - Ok, confession time. I am not a big fan of pure "indie" (which, incidentally, is a term nearly as abused as alternative). I can stomach Death Cab and I like maybe one Modest Mouse song, but beyond that I get bored at best. I actually tried to seed a Pandora station using the two Death Cab songs that I really really do like, and at the end of maybe four or five hours of listening, I had thumbs-downed practically every other song and hadn't thumbs-up'ed anything.
Anyway, Cath... is one song that I really do like a lot, for a couple of reasons. Firstly, it's entertaining and well-done musically. Secondly, it's a pretty easy song to relate to - while I'm not about to run out and get myself into a meaningless marriage, it certainly does speak to me about falling into the trap of doing meaningless things just because you feel trapped by circumstance. I feel like I'm possibly not explaining myself as well as I could here but hopefully I'm at least making some sense.

Death Cab for Cuite - Your New Twin Sized Bed - Again, a case of "wow, I totally relate this this". Confession again - I do in fact have a full size bed, and while it's at least partially because I like the space (and because I've always had one), there is certainly the thought of "well if I meet somebody it might come in handy". So far, that has not happened. There's sort of a theme of resignation and longing here that I am right with.

Death Cab For Cutie - A Movie Script Ending - Ok, confession the third - I only kind of like the song here. But I love love love the video. I had actually forgotten how much I liked it until I ran across it in my YouTube favorites while I was writing this post. Again, a case of themes I can relate to, albeit in a more removed way this time (rather than missing a person, I miss having a person to miss (and here I go again into complaining about being single, which is something I generally try to avoid)).  Anyway, main bullet point here - solid indie rock, great video. Check it out.

Going to close out this post with a couple of more bullet points:
  • I am a big fan and user of last.fm, which I have actually been using since it was still called Audioscrobbler. If you don't know of it, the key feature for me is Last.fm scrobbler, a piece of software that sits on my computer, tracks the music I listen to (via Winamp - I think it also supports Windows Media Player, iTunes and foobar 2000 as well as possibly some other players) and gives me access to that data as some nice charts, as well as making recommendations as to new stuff I might like. My page is here if you are ever curious as to what I'm listening to. The "all time" charts don't quite reflect what I am listening to these days, but that's what happens with over 7 years of data to play with. Sometimes I will go a little bit without using it, as I do quite a bit of listening via Pandora at work, in the car or via my MP3 player at the gym but generally I'll catch up and hit some stuff through Winamp at least a few times a week.
  • If you haven't seen Scott Pilgrim vs The World, you need to. End of story. Great movie, which got me into the rest of the franchise, which is great. The novels (at least the two I have read) are muchly enjoyable, and the art makes me happy. I've also been playing the video game a ton with my roomates, and while it's a bit unpolished (things that hardlock my XBox are lame), it's a *ton* of fun.
  • On a similar token, I recently discovered the webcomic Alone in a Crowd. The writing is great and the art makes me smile muchly. At some point I might need to do a post on webcomics (I had actually thought of doing that here, but I don't really want to do a giant "super-post".
I think that covers it for now (I wrote a lot more than I thought I was going to!). See you next time!

04 August 2010

LOL WHOOPS

THERE'S A BLOG HERE!

Yeah, obviously I am quite a bit behind on actually doing the 30 day challenge (I swear I had good intentions guys, really!). I will probably try to get caught up on that soon, and I also plan to do a trip report from Defcon (which I actually started writing already, so I really have no excuse not to post at least part of it).

05 July 2010

(OT) 30 day challenge - Day One - Guility Pleasure

This begs an interesting question for me, actually. Where do I draw the line between "guilty pleasure" and just a regular "thing I like"? I'm a whore for a lot of things that aren't necesscarily typical interests for a 22 year old straight male - bad 90s pop music, John Hughes movies (I have seen Sixteen Candles more times that I would care to admit), PBS kids shows, The Killers, and probably a whole bunch of stuff that would make for a much better list that isn't coming to mind offhand. For that matter, there are a lot of other things that I like to do that could be considered a guily pleasure - buying breakfast on my way to work, indulging my insatiable gadgetlust, etc.

Actually, now that I'm forcing myself to think about it, I suppose my real guilty pleasure is pop culture. Like a lot of geeks, I have a penchant for references. My roommates and another good friend recently put an ad on Craigslist to try to recruit some additional people for their pen and paper roleplaying group. When a couple of respondents to the ad came by our apartment to hang out and get to know everyone better, one of them commented on how it was like my friends and I were speaking a different language, because we communicated so much in references. Which is completely true. We have all known each other since midway through high school and have been hanging out on a regular basis for much of that time. Anyway, a lot of those references are not just to things that happens to us as a group, but things that we have seen or watched together. Rarely does a day go by when somebody doesn't reference Futurama or Avatar: The Last Airbender or some other such thing.

Anyway, I have always felt vaugely guilty about liking things that everyone else likes. After a good few years going through school trying to fit in, I eventually stopped caring and started doing my own thing. A couple of years after that, I ended up with a pretty strong anti-establishment streak. I always have a hard time embracing things that are popular or even mainstream. Example: I recently started listening to The Killers. I had always avoided them because they often got lumped in with groups like The Strokes and Velvent Revolver, which were supposed to bring some kind of new age of rock and roll and completely remake the genere. Which is bullcrap. Particularly The Strokes...they are just terrible. Terrible. So I had always avoided The Killers, but a month or so ago had occasion to listen to Hot Fuss in it's entirety...and to my chagrin, I liked it. I liked it a lot, actually. Which was a good lesson - sometimes, things are popular because they're *good*, not because mainstream society is being stupid (although a lot of the time, it is).

That was a lot of words to come up with this: TL;DR - my guilty pleasure is mainstream popular culture (or at least the parts of it that don't suck).

(OT) 30 day challenge

My friend Megan was kind enough to post a neat "blogger's challenge" on her blog, which was cool as hell and I've decided to rip off. Basically, how this works is for 30 days I'll post an entry explaining where I stand on each of the items in the list below. I'm not sure how we'll I'll do at remembering to keep up with it, and of course I have Defcon at the end of the month - I don't see myself going to the trouble of doing blog updates by smartphone or Kindle. So I reserve the right to double up if I need to.

Day 1: Guilty pleasure
Day 2: What inspires you
Day 3: 5 songs to take on a desert island and why
Day 4: Your image of paradise
Day 5: A thank you to someone who changed your life
Day 6: Earliest memory
Day 7: Your favorite cover of your favorite song
Day 8: Someone you want to see as President
Day 9: 5 things you want to change
Day 10: Describe a dream you had this week
Day 11: Favorite picture of yourself
Day 12: Favorite musical artist's life story
Day 13: A memory that makes you laugh
Day 14: Best mashup
Day 15: A song that changed your life
Day 16: Something you want to do in the next 5 years
Day 17: What you want to be remembered for
Day 18: A picture that makes you feel _______?
Day 19: A passage from a book that has moved you
Day 20: First song you heard by your favorite band
Day 21: Your favorite medium of art
Day 22: Somebody you would die for
Day 23: Most awkward first impression
Day 24: Most memorable moment of childhood
Day 25: Something you would do if nothing stopped you
Day 26: What is love?
Day 27: The meaning of life
Day 28: A moment you remember being completely happy in and why
Day 29: What do you live for?
Day 30: Ways you've grown over the past thirty days.